REMINDER: Barbara Jordan Media Awards Deadline: 1/15/16

REMINDER: Barbara Jordan Media Awards Deadline: 1/15/16

This is a reminder about the Barbara Jordan Media Awards program from the Texas Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities. The award is presented in several different categories, including Print Feature, Television Feature, Internet, Photojournalism, Student, etc. There is NO FEE for entries. Winners are selected by a panel of professional journalists, people with disabilities, and professionals in the field of disabilities. Submissions must be postmarked or received electronically by the deadline.

The Barbara Jordan Media Awards seek to spotlight journalists who portray people with disabilities in a respectful, positive manner. It is our belief that journalists help shape our culture and our perceptions; well-produced, creative stories showing a person with a disability as a person first benefits us all.

The deadline for submissions is January 15, 2016 for stories produced, published and/or distributed in Texas in 2015, but entries can be submitted any time before the deadline. For more information and Submission Guidelines and Entry Forms, please visit our website or contact us. Also on our website, you can take a look at the most recent winners and previous winners. (Recent Winners) (Past Winners)

Thank you for considering a submission and for helping us get the word out to all professional journalists.

For additional information:


[email protected]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.