REMINDER: 2017 Barbara Jordan Media Awards Call for Nominations

Reminder: 2017 Barbara Jordan Media Awards Call for Nominations

This is a reminder for the 2017 Barbara Jordan Media Awards Call for Nominations

Texas Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities hosts the Annual Barbara Jordan Media Awards; this call for nominations is for media content created or published in 2016. Awards are presented in several different categories, including Broadcast, Internet, Photojournalism, Print, Book, and College or High School Student. There is NO FEE for entries. Winners are selected by a panel of professional journalists, people with disabilities, and professionals in the field of disabilities. (

The deadline for submissions is February 17, 2017 for stories produced, published and/or distributed in Texas in 2016.

The Barbara Jordan Media Awards seek to spotlight journalists who portray people with disabilities in a respectful, positive manner. It is our belief that journalists help shape our culture and our perceptions; well-produced, creative stories showing a person with a disability as a person first benefits us all.

Director’s Challenge

A unique opportunity for Texas college students is to submit a nomination for the Director’s Challenge which seeks short videos or public service announcements (30-60 seconds) that promote accessible parking availability and discourage illegal parking in accessible parking spaces. An exception is allowed for the Director’s Challenge – the video or PSA may be created or published in Texas any time between January 2017 and the February 17 deadline.

University of North Texas Division of Equity & Diversity is offering a $500 scholarship to the winner of the Director’s Challenge for a student attending any Texas college. More information on the Committee’s work on accessible parking is available on the Committee’s website in the report entitled A Review of Accessible Parking for Persons with Disabilities. (

Self-nominations are welcome and encouraged in all categories. For more information and Submission Guidelines and Entry Forms, please visit our website or contact us. ( Also on our website, you can view previous winners.

Thank you for considering a submission and for helping us get the word out to all professional journalists and journalism and communications students.

MARK YOUR CALENDAR for the 2017 Barbara Jordan Media Awards on April 13, 2017 at The University of North Texas (UNT) campus. The 2017 Awards luncheon will be hosted by The University of North Texas Mayborn School of Journalism.

For more information, contact:

Texas Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities
P.O. Box 12428
Austin, TX 78711
Phone: 512-463-5739 or use the Relay provider of your choice
Video phone: 512-434-0102
Fax: 512-463-5745
Email: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.